Bangladesh pacer Rubel Hossain announces retirement from test cricket, says wants to give opportunities to youth


Rubel Hossain Retirement, Rubel Hossain, bangladesh cricket - India TV Hindi News
Image Source : GETTY
Rubel Hossain


  • Rubel Hossain played the last test in 2020
  • 27 Test matches played in 13 years of Test career
  • 36 wickets in his name

Rubel Hossain Retirement: Bangladesh fast bowler Rubel Hossain has said goodbye to Test cricket. The 32-year-old bowler, who has been out of the team for more than two years, informed about his decision on Monday. He said that he wants to give more opportunities to the youth in this format. Sharing a post on his Facebook account, Rubel wrote that I want to tell you something. I have officially written to the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) about my retirement from Test cricket.

Time to give opportunities to youth

He wrote that this longer format of cricket plays a big role in strengthening the pipeline of the national team. I think our pipeline will be stronger if young fast bowlers get more opportunities. To give more opportunities to the youngsters in the red-ball format, I have decided to retire from Test cricket.

Will continue to play in limited overs

Hussain also made it clear that he will be available for limited overs cricket and will continue to play in the Dhaka Premier League. He said that I was able to play 27 Tests for Bangladesh, which is a big achievement for me. I am grateful to all those who have helped me during my journey with red ball cricket and I look forward to your support in the days to come. I have retired from Test cricket, but I believe I still have a lot to offer for Bangladesh in the ODI and T20I formats.

27 Tests played in 13 years

Talking about Hussain’s Test career, he made his debut for Bangladesh in this format in 2009. After this he played 27 Test matches till 2020 and took 36 wickets in this journey of 13 years. His best performance was 5/166 which came against New Zealand.

Latest Cricket News

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here