Dilip Tirkey Hockey India President

Dilip Tirkey Hockey India President

Dilip Tirkey


  • Dilip Tirkey elected President of Hockey India
  • Dilip Tirkey got the post of Hockey India President unopposed
  • Dilip Tirkey is the former captain of the Indian hockey team

Dilip Tirkey Hockey India President: In a special development, Hockey India got its new president a week ahead of time. The special thing is that this time the person sitting on this important post is not just a politician or administrator. He has also had tremendous experience of playing for India on the international stage.

Dilip Tirkey appointed as the new President of Hockey India

Former India captain Dilip Tirkey was on Friday elected unopposed as the new President of Hockey India. The Hockey India elections were to be held on October 1 but the results were already declared as there was no candidate for any post. As a result, under the constitution of the Hockey Federation, only the outgoing candidates were elected unopposed.

2 contenders for the post of president withdrew their names

Initially two more candidates were in the fray along with Tirkey for the post of Hockey India President. But Uttar Pradesh Hockey Association chief Rakesh Katyal and Hockey Jharkhand’s Bhola Nath Singh later withdrew after which Tirkey was elected unopposed as the president. Bhola Nath was elected General Secretary.

Approval for election from International Hockey Federation

The International Hockey Federation has approved the selection of Tirkey and his team. The FIH wrote in a letter that when candidates for a position are less than or equal to the number of posts, they are deemed to have been elected unopposed. The FIH further wrote in the letter, “We are therefore pleased to note that the Executive Board of Hockey India has been elected, the information of which is available on the Hockey India website, and the elections for all positions were held unopposed.”

Dilip Tirkey has tremendous experience of field hockey

Former Indian captain Dilip Tirkey made his debut against England in 1995. He represented India at the 1996 Atlanta, 2000 Sydney and 2004 Athens Olympics. He represented India in a total of 412 international matches. He was the only tribal athlete to represent India in three Olympic Games. He announced his retirement from international hockey on 2 May 2010.

function loadFacebookScript(){
!function (f, b, e, v, n, t, s) {
if (f.fbq)
n = f.fbq = function () {
n.callMethod ? n.callMethod.apply(n, arguments) : n.queue.push(arguments);
if (!f._fbq)
f._fbq = n;
n.push = n;
n.loaded = !0;
n.version = ‘2.0’;
n.queue = [];
t = b.createElement(e);
t.async = !0;
t.src = v;
s = b.getElementsByTagName(e)[0];
s.parentNode.insertBefore(t, s);
}(window, document, ‘script’, ‘//connect.facebook.net/en_US/fbevents.js’);
fbq(‘init’, ‘1684841475119151’);
fbq(‘track’, “PageView”);

window.addEventListener(‘load’, (event) => {
}, 7000);

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here